Trending February 2024 # How To Upgrade Windows 8 To Preview To Windows 8.1 Rtm # Suggested March 2024 # Top 2 Popular

You are reading the article How To Upgrade Windows 8 To Preview To Windows 8.1 Rtm updated in February 2024 on the website Daihoichemgio.com. We hope that the information we have shared is helpful to you. If you find the content interesting and meaningful, please share it with your friends and continue to follow and support us for the latest updates. Suggested March 2024 How To Upgrade Windows 8 To Preview To Windows 8.1 Rtm

Windows 8.1, formerly known as “Blue”, it’s a full-featured update set to fix many shortcomings in the operating system. Not only it brings fixes and improvements, but also it’s the first time that Microsoft introduces so many significant changes in one update.

For those who still unfamiliar, the Windows 8.1 will be free and the rumor is that the final version will become available for download in August 1. Also before the final release (a.k.a RTM) Microsoft is expected to release a Windows 8.1 Preview on June 26, 2013 during the BUILD conference.

FAQs

Now, for those planning to install the preview, there are some FAQs worth noting. For example, upgrading to Windows 8.1 Preview won’t restrict users from installing the final version later on, but apps (metro-styled and desktop) will need to be reinstalled. On the other hand user accounts, personal data, settings, and personalization are preserved during the process. The same thing is true for Windows RT, but because desktop applications are not supported this is not a big a problem.

SEE ALSO: Windows 8.1 Preview: important FAQs to know before installing

Important note from Microsoft: 

If you are on Windows RT and have installed a language pack, please don’t install the Windows RT 8.1 Preview at this time. Microsoft will release a fix shortly.

Some tablets and PCs running newer 32-bit Atom processors require updates to their graphics drivers before they can run the Windows 8.1 Preview. Those tablets and PCs include the Lenovo ThinkPad Tablet 2, ASUS VivoTab TF810C, HP Envy X2, HP ElitePad 900, Samsung ATIV Smart PC, and Fujitsu ARROWS Tab. Microsoft is working closely with Intel and OEM partners to deliver updated drivers that will allow you to install the Windows 8.1 Preview as soon as possible.

Skipping the preview and waiting for the final release of Windows 8.1 means less trouble for the majority of users and it’s a straightforward process. Users will get notify, confirming the installation starts the process and all settings, personal data, apps (metro-styled and desktop), and personalization will be kept intact.

SEE ALSO: How the upgrade from Windows 8.1 Preview to the final RTM version works (update)

Upgrading to Windows 8.1 Preview

Although, Windows 8.1 Preview will be available from the Windows Store, every PC will be required to install an optional Windows update before anyone can see the notification to install the preview. (Keep in mind that Microsoft will also be offering an ISO with the necessary files for this installation. However the only way to update for Windows RT users is through the Store.)

Once you confirm the notification, the necessary files will download, then Windows will restart, the update installation starts, and after accepting the license agreement again, you’ll need to complete the OOBE (Out Of Box Experience) setup.

Notes: If you’re connected to the internet when installing Windows 8.1 Preview, you won’t be offered a local account setup option. But you can configure this later if you need to.

From Preview to Windows 8.1 RTM without losing any apps

Like I mentioned earlier, Microsoft will force you to reinstall all your apps, if you decide to test the preview. One way to get around this situation and keep all of your apps moving to the final version of Windows 8.1 is by simply creating a full system backup now, before installing the update. When the time comes, you can restore your system with the backup that contains all the apps and then proceed with the installation of Windows 8.1 RTM.

Other things you need to know

Moving to “8.1” is a decision you have to make, it’s not a mandatory update, but is highly recommended to install to enhance your Windows 8 experience, to get new great apps, and new features, such as auto-triggered VPN, boot-to-desktop, bring back the Start button, new search capabilities, and a lot more.

Even though, the new changes will eventually come integrated in installation media of the operating system, this still an update and you’ll have to have Windows 8 installed before moving to the final version of Windows 8.1.

In the case you need to rollback Windows 8 from Windows 8.1, Microsoft will offer a way to get back to your previous installation. However, the company didn’t specify what will be kept.

SEE ALSO: Download Windows 8.1 Preview ISO image from Microsoft

You're reading How To Upgrade Windows 8 To Preview To Windows 8.1 Rtm

How To Upgrade To A Higher Edition Of Windows

So most likely, if you bought your computer from Amazon or Best Buy or some other online website/store, the version of Windows that is included with the computer is going to be the basic version: Starter or Home or Home Premium. In the case of Windows 10, it’s just Windows 10 and not the Professional version.

Why would you want to upgrade to a higher edition? Well, the Professional or Ultimate versions of Windows basically have more features that power users might use like the ability to join a domain, Bitlocker encryption, remote desktop, Hyper-V virtualization and more. So if you have decided to make the move from Starter to Home Premium, Home to Professional, or Professional to Ultimate, how do you go about doing it?

Table of Contents

In this article, I’ll show you how to upgrade your Windows edition in Windows 7, 8.1 and 10. Note that you can currently upgrade a 32-bit version to another 32-bit version and same for 64-bit, but you cannot upgrade from a 32-bit OS to 64-bit.

Upgrade Windows 10 to Higher Edition

For Windows 10, there are basically just three editions: Home, Professional and Enterprise. When you upgrade from Home to Professional, you can downgrade or revert back within 30 days unless you run Disk Cleanup and remove previous Windows installations. You only have 30 days because that’s how long Windows keeps the previous version of Windows before deleting it.

Also, for Windows 10, you can’t upgrade directly from Pro to Enterprise. You have to buy it directly from Microsoft and usually with a volume license. If you have Windows 7 or Windows 8.1 Enterprise, you can upgrade that to Windows 10 Enterprise.

This will take you to the Activation screen where you will see a Go to Store link at the bottom.

This will load the Windows Store app and allow you to purchase the upgrade for $99.99.

Once you buy it, Windows will start the process for upgrading Windows 10 Home to Pro. It takes just a few minutes and you’ll just have to restart your computer once after it has finished.

Upgrade Windows 8.1 to Higher Edition

As of October 2024, Microsoft no longer sells upgrade packs to Windows 8 or 8.1 Home to Windows 8 or 8.1 Pro. Basically, no one really uses Windows 8 anymore and therefore they are trying to get everyone upgraded to Windows 10.

The only place you can get a Windows 8.1 Pro upgrade is from a third-party seller like Amazon for a whopping $137! That really doesn’t make a lot of sense considering you can upgrade Windows 8.1 to Windows 10 for free until July 29th, 2024. At that point, the Home edition will be $99 and Pro will be $199.

Note that Amazon only sells a keycard, which will contain the product key for Windows 8.1 Pro. To use it, you’ll follow the steps above, but choose I already have a product key to enter the new key.

Upgrade Windows 7 using Windows Anytime Upgrade

For Windows 7, once you upgrade to a higher edition, you really can’t revert back without some serious registry hacking, etc. This really shouldn’t be a big issue, but it’s good to know. Also, for Windows 7, you can upgrade from Home Premium to Ultimate without having to upgrade to Professional first. You can basically skip editions.

In the same dialog, you’ll get a list of the different versions along with a nice table of features for each. This is also a great way to compare the different versions of Windows 7 and actually see what the differences are.

That’s pretty much it! After you enter your key, Microsoft will confirm it and all the new features of the higher edition will be available immediately! No need to download anything or install any extra software. Enjoy!

5 Tips To Improve The Windows 8.1 Startup Experience

There are lots of things to love and hate about Windows, but if you’re going to have the best possible experience, it’s important that things get off to a good start. Getting off on the wrong foot with a slow or irritating startup is going to taint your computing time. Here are five of the best tips that will help you to iron out niggles, eliminate bottlenecks and generally improve the startup process of Windows 8.1.

1. Boot straight to the desktop

This is something that has annoyed Windows 8 users ever since the operating system was released – booting to the Start screen rather than the desktop. With the release of Windows 8.1, Microsoft saw fit to address users’ concerns and introduced the option to boot straight to the desktop. You’d be forgiven for not having notice the option immediately as it’s not blatantly obvious.

If you are still using Windows 8, it’s still possible to skip the Start screen with a little trickery.

2. Jump straight to Apps on the Start screen

Despite Microsoft’s push of Modern apps, most of us are sticking with regular desktop apps. The fact that the Start screen lists tiles and Modern apps first can be annoying and may mean that it takes longer to launch the program you’re looking for.

3. Eliminate launch delay for startup apps

You probably have a number of applications that are configured to start automatically with Windows. Windows 8 tries to be helpful by staggering the launch of your startup programs to try to avoid bottlenecks building up. In reality, you may well find that it just takes longer for the apps you need to reach a usable state. By editing the registry, it is possible to completely eliminate this delay so that all startup apps will be launched as soon as possible.

4. Automatically log into your user account

Having to enter a password just to use your own computer can be a pain. There are certainly security benefits to it, but if you are the only person who has access to your computer, you may want to be able to get straight down to work. We’ve previously looked at how you can skip the Welcome Screen in Windows 7. The same technique can be used in Windows 8.1 as well.

5. Make use of Sleep or hibernation modes

Whatever you do to help speed up your computer, the boot process always seems to take a little too long. It’s easy to forget, but Windows can be put into Sleep mode in which the current state of the computer is saved to memory so it can be very quickly restored – resuming from Sleep is much, much faster than cold booting.

If you have any other time-saving, speed-enhancing tips, share them below.

Mark Wilson

Mark Wilson is a software fiend and a fan of the new, shiny and intriguing. Never afraid to get his hands dirty with some full-scale geekery, he’s always trying out the latest apps, hacks and tweaks. He can be found on Google+, Facebook and Twitter.

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Our latest tutorials delivered straight to your inbox

Sign up for all newsletters.

By signing up, you agree to our Privacy Policy and European users agree to the data transfer policy. We will not share your data and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Windows 8.1 Download Iso Files

Windows 8.1 Download ISO files [USB & DVD Setup] Here is where and how to download Windows 8.1

28

Share

X

Unfortunately, plenty of manufacturers don’t include a copy of Windows8.1. OS installation DVD with their systems.

In spite of that, you can use the above tips and download Windows 8.1 ISO File (Disk Image) for free.

All you need to do is download the ISO, mount it, and install your new Windows 8.1 OS.

So, if a Windows 8.1 ISO file download is what you need, just use the link provided below.

X

INSTALL BY CLICKING THE DOWNLOAD FILE

To fix Windows PC system issues, you will need a dedicated tool

Fortect is a tool that does not simply cleans up your PC, but has a repository with several millions of Windows System files stored in their initial version. When your PC encounters a problem, Fortect will fix it for you, by replacing bad files with fresh versions. To fix your current PC issue, here are the steps you need to take:

Download Fortect and install it on your PC.

Start the tool’s scanning process to look for corrupt files that are the source of your problem

Fortect has been downloaded by

0

readers this month.

If you are looking for Windows 8.1 ISO download files, then you need to stop as we did the job for you. Keep on reading to find the right download links.

The ISO file containing Windows 8.1 customer preview has been released for a long time, so downloading the ISO file and installing it on your computer is a viable option.

On the download page, users can now find a number of ISO files, both in 64-bit and 32-bit architecture, as well as in different languages. Just get ready for a quick DVD/USB setup!

How can I download the Windows 8.1 ISO file (Disk Image)? 1. Grab the Windows 8.1 ISO file for free

If you want to download the ISO file with Windows 8.1, rest assured that we will provide you with the download links and serial number for Windows 8.1, and also with some other information about it.

Just head over to the download page and select the version you want from the list at the bottom.

Also there, you can find the serial number for this version. For those of you who are impatient, here you have both the Windows 8.1 serial number and the ISO files:

Windows 8.1 Serial Number: NTTX3-RV7VB-T7X7F-WQYYY-9Y92F

⇒ Download Windows 8.1 ISO from Microsoft’s Support page

If you want to see the other versions of Windows 8.1 that were released, follow the link listed above to the official Microsoft Windows 8.1 download page and scroll to the bottom of the page.

You will see a list of the available Windows 8.1 versions:

Moreover, there’s also a list of all the languages that Windows 8.1 supports:

2. Known issues and incompatibility

Microsoft revealed that Windows 8.1 is incompatible with some devices that have Intel’s Atom processors. Here’s what they said:

Important: Windows 8.1 Preview isn’t currently supported on some tablets and PCs with newer 32-bit Atom processors

Here is a list of devices that cannot run Windows 8.1 for the moment:

Lenovo ThinkPad Tablet 2

ASUS VivoTab TF810C

Samsung ATIV Smart PC

HP ElitePad 900

HP ENVY x2

Fujitsu ARROWS Tab

As a quick reminder, Microsoft ended mainstream support for Windows 8.1 in January 2023. This means that Windows 8.1 is on Extended Support until January 2023.

This date marks the moment when the Redmond giant will no longer provide security updates for the OS.

Was this page helpful?

x

How To Bypass Windows 8 Login Screen After Startup

Do you find it troublesome to sign in with the username and password in the Windows 8 login screen after startup or sleep? Here’s a nifty hack on how to bypass it, which means the system automatically signs in your username and password.

Combining it with the disable lock screen tweak, you’ll be directed to the desktop in a few seconds. However, implementing this tweak poses security risks to your computer, especially if you’re sharing it with several users, so do it at your own risk.

We assume you know how to edit and create keys in the Registry Editor and have basic knowledge on how to use the Command Prompt – with either of the two, we can bypass the login screen.

Note: make sure you have the Administrator rights in the system, otherwise change it in User Account Control (UAC).

Deactivate user login screen in Command Prompt

If you choose this tweak, the login screen will be disabled for all users. We highly recommend you only do this if you’re the only user or you have a shared computer with trusted family members.

1. On the keyboard, press “Windows key + X.”

2. Choose the “Command Prompt (Admin),” and when the UAC prompts you for permission, choose “Yes.”

3. After the Command Prompt box shows up, type:

control userpasswords2

The UA management window will show up.

4. Uncheck the box, “Users must create a user name and password to use this computer.”

Deactivate user login screen in Registry Editor

Another way to disable the login screen is via Registry Editor. Follow the steps below and make sure you’re accessing the same folder(s) or path(s) as stated.

1. On the keyboard, press “Windows key + R” to launch the Run bar.

2. In the Run bar, type regedit.

4. Browse the Registry Editor folders and go to this path:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREMicrosoftWindows NTCurrentVersionWinlogon

Note: if you can’t find the “CurrentVersion” key, you need to create a folder first to keep the sub-key “Winlogon” (assuming you can’t find it, proceed to the next step).

7. Under the “Winlogon” key, create a new string – hover the mouse to “New” and choose “String Value” and label it with your default username. The format is: MicrosoftAccountyourusername.

8. Next, in that same folder, create a new string value and label it “AutoAdminLogon.”

10. Lastly, create a new string for the password and label it “DefaultPassword” – edit the value and type your password. Your window should look like this.

11. Close the Registry Editor and restart/reboot your computer.

Note: On my first attempt, it didn’t affect my system. However, I checked the Registry Editor and went back to the same path above – these folders (CurrentVersion and Winlogon) have lists of strings and values, which I didn’t find when I created them (e.g Winlogon key). I checked the values of username, password, and autoadminlogon (notice the value of AutoAdminLogon below is 0; I had to change it to 1) one more time and restarted the system.

And finally, Windows 8 automatically signed in my username and password. I don’t have to enter them every now and then.

However, if you wake the PC, you’ll encounter the login screen again, requiring you to enter the password. In a nutshell, unless you do the next steps, the tweaks above only work after startup. The solution? Hack our way to “Password Policy”

1. From Start Menu, type in the Search bar “users” – choose the “Account users.”

4. Exit the PC Settings and restart your computer. Activate the Sleep (on my keyboard, it’s Fn key + F4), wake the computer, and check if the login screen still appears.

Conclusion

The Command Prompt is easier and quicker than the Registry Editor tweak – of the two, it can automatically sign in your account – make sure you change the password policy in PC Settings so you won’t have to log in again. But remember, you do this tweak at your own risk.

What do you think of this tweak?

Maria Krisette Capati

Krisette is a technology writer who loves to cover disruptive technologies, trends, and a myriad of rumors and news updates. To satiate the inconsolable longing to feed her gadget addiction, she simply writes and tinker her gadgets for reviews. You may follow her blurbs, too! @krisettecapati

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Our latest tutorials delivered straight to your inbox

Sign up for all newsletters.

By signing up, you agree to our Privacy Policy and European users agree to the data transfer policy. We will not share your data and you can unsubscribe at any time.

How To Set Up Wifi Hotspot In Windows 8

Last year, my roommate moved out of my apartment and ended up taking our wireless router. I didn’t want to wait for twenty-four hours for Amazon to send me my new router, so I decided to turn my PC into a wireless router (or hotspot). My PC, which was wired directly to my modem, turned out to be a great replacement for my router and allowed me to hook up to the internet via WiFi with my laptop and mobile devices.

There are two ways of turning your Windows 8 PC into a wireless router, and I will walk you through both.

1. Doing It from the Command Prompt

1. Press the “Windows + R” key combination to bring up a run box, type “ncpa.cpl” and hit enter.

5. The first thing we need to do is set up the wireless network; this is done using the “netsh” command.

netsh wlan

set

hostednetwork

mode

=allow

ssid

=

"How-To "

key

=

"Pa

$w0rd

"

Where “ssid” is the name of your network and “key” is the password you want users to connect with, it’s also worth mentioning that the access point is created with WPA2-PSK (AES) encryption.

6. Now we are ready to start broadcasting our network:

2. Virtual Router Plus

Fortunately, Virtual Router Plus, a free utility that adds WiFi hotspot capabilities to Windows 8, is a much easier alternative to setting up a hotspot through the command prompt.

First off, be really careful during setup. The software is not totally “free,” as the installer comes packed with adware. It’s easy enough to bypass if you pay attention, but potentially troublesome if you don’t.

After you install the program, it’ll pop open a help page in your browser, which you may need to verify whether you have the required device drivers. You can skip that for now; instead, try using the utility.

Conclusion

Now that you set up your PC to be able to emit wireless Internet, don’t throw out your router! A router is much faster than a PC hotspot. That being said, this is a cool alternative for times when you need wireless Internet in your house but don’t have access to a router.

Image credit: Wifi Hotspot SignBigStockPhoto

Rahul Sharma

I am Rahul Sharma a freelance Creative Writer. The work that I do is the love of my life. I am not just passionate about latest google updates and tech stuff but in fact I am totally into it. The idea and conception of this blog came to me as a part of my quest to find the latest updates going around the web.

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Our latest tutorials delivered straight to your inbox

Sign up for all newsletters.

By signing up, you agree to our Privacy Policy and European users agree to the data transfer policy. We will not share your data and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Update the detailed information about How To Upgrade Windows 8 To Preview To Windows 8.1 Rtm on the Daihoichemgio.com website. We hope the article's content will meet your needs, and we will regularly update the information to provide you with the fastest and most accurate information. Have a great day!